Greatest American Films in Every Letter of the Alphabet

I dedicated this year, 2016, as a year dedicated to writing. I made a resolution that I will write more and publish more posts this year than in the previous years since I started blogging. As it turned out, it seems that I was successful about accomplishing my new year’s resolution. I have published a reflective essay about butterflies and art , a career advice, a short story, and a bunch of poems.

 
Aside from writing and blogging, I found a new interest this year—watching films. I was not really the kind of a regular moviegoer but I do enjoy watching films occasionally. But this year, I became interested in watching the great classic movies of the past starting with Forrest Gump. I just only saw Forrest Gump this year after being fascinated with Tom Hanks in the Bridge of Spies. After that the rest was history, 2016 became the year of watching great films for me and I am looking forward to continue in the coming years. So as a round-up for this year, I made my list of the best films for every letter of the alphabet. There are no specific criteria aside from my personal affection for the film and notable critic reviews from the late great Roger Ebert and websites Rotten Tomatoes and Metacritic.

Annie Hall (1977)
Boyhood (2013)
Citizen Kane (1941)
Do the Right Thing (1989)
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2006)
Forrest Gump (1994)
Godfather (1972)
Hurt Locker (2008)
Inception (2010)
Jaws (1975)
King’s Speech (2010)
Lost in Translation (2001)
Mean Streets (1973)
Nashville (1975)
One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (1975)
Pulp Fiction (1994)
Queen (2006)
Raging Bull (1980)
Schindler’s List (1993)
Taxi Driver (1976)
Up (2013)
Vertigo (1958)
Wizard of Oz (1939)
X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014)
Yankee Doodle Dandy
Zero Dark Thirty (2012)

Honorable Mentions:

American Beauty
Chinatown
Django Unchained and Dark Knight
Fight Club
Goodfellas
Mulholland Drive
Pianist
Shawshank Redemption
Titanic

2 Replies to “Greatest American Films in Every Letter of the Alphabet”

Leave a Reply

